So here we are May…on step forward through the summer, but when you are living in England, “summer” Lenticchia di Castelluccioit will have an almost complete different meaning from the rest of Europe…I don’t want to say World but nearly!

So while I am trying to get rid of this annoying cold, another of that million thing that can happen during a beginning of British Summer….the weather has decided to turn on a pretty much winter style!. So this afternoon I was thinking what to cook for dinner, that was healthy, that wasn’t pasta or boiled chicken, yes because recently, since I joined the gym and decided to eat healthy and simple I have re-discovered a truly passion for boiled chicken breast in water with a vegetable organic stock cube, and that’s’ it. I know it sounds pretty much as hospital food…but God knows why….I can’t stop eating it.

Ohh yes before I forgot and as I said already, I’m not a food blogger, my blog is a  mix and match of loads of “items” most of the times in Italian, after 7 years living in England I have finally decided to start to write in English….ohhh pooor you just in case you will read all those gibbering. What else oh yes, because I am not a food blogger, most of the time my recipe don’t have the famous “quantity” for the ingredients except if I am baking… For cooks, recipes are mere suggestions, flexible in their ingredients and proportions. For bakers, on the other hand, recipes are gospel truth, precise in their measurements and techniques. And definitely I am a cook.

Italian Lentils Soup – for 2 people or for single…if it’s too much you can freeze the rest!Lovely Soup

–      Lenticchie di Castelluccio (they are typical from Italy Norcia precisely in Umbria) but you can use the common Puy lentils, enough quantity for 2 people or for a good leftover if you are single…but if you really want the measurement 120gr because while they cook they’ll grow or 1 ¼ cup of

–      1 small onion or ¼ of a big one

–      2 small carrots or ½ of a big one…again

–      1 small stalk of celery, if you don’t like it like me, don’t!

–      3 garlic gloves, minced

–      1 tin of chopped tomatoes

–      3 of cold tap water

–      1 vegetable stock cube

–      Extra Vergin Olive Oil

–      Little pinch of chili

–      Italian mixed dry herbs

That’s all!

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat until shimmering, about 3 minutes. Add the celery, carrot, and onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables have softened, about 10 minutes. Stir in the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

 Add the lentils, tomatoes with their juices, herbs, pinch of chili and stir to combine. Cover and bring to a simmer, about 15 minutes. O  nce simmering, reduce the heat to low and continue simmering, covered, until the lentils and vegetables are soft, about 15 minutes more. Taste in case will need more seasoning and to be sure the lentils are cooked, you can add more water if they are not ready yet so keep your kettle warm.

You can add some little pasta if you want or just eat like that, eventually with some crostini made with sour dough or soda bread. Cut some slices of this bread toasted in the oven, take one garlic glove and some garlic and rubbed on the hot bread slice add a little glug of extra virgin olive oil and enjoy your soup

