I am not a food blogger although  sometimes i do dream about it. Me in a wonderful super high tech kitchen with a touch of old style of course, cause I do love “aga’s and range cookers” but I would love to have an eye level oven like in British bake off which the door slide down and you don’t burn yourself, like I normally do. I would love to have Ina Garten kitchen, with all that appliances, utensils, crockeries, pans and pots ohh just divine or a Mary Berry one very english country side, elegant and just the right place to spend time when you want to relax or you have your girl-friends around. I would like to say I like even Nigella kitchen but because I found Nigella a bit to cahotic and not exactly a good “chef” even if she never said to be one, is the reason why she is not in my “Kitchen dreams”and I dislike her, because I bought one of her books and decided to follow just once one of her recipe to bake brownie what a big mistake and what a waste of ingridients that day.

Anyway I am not here to give a lecture about Nigella or anyone else but just talking about my Saturday baking session.

I have been poorly with flu so I know I shouldn’t have baked, simply because when you are sick nothing comes out well made, but was my day off too and I was feeling rather happy and better so I checked in my kitchen I had enough apples, I checked in the cupboard if I had enough flour and yes I had, found some chocolate left over from another recipe, in the fridge I had enough eggs and a pot of ricotta that need to be used before the expiring date…so I though let’s bake.

Ingridients:

  • 400 gr self-raising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 400 gr of apples – but honestly I just picked up 5 of my small apples or if biggers use just 3
  • 350 gr of granulated sugar
  • 100 gr of milk to use just if you think the batter is  not smooth enough
  • finely grated rind of 2 lemons
  • 250 gr of ricotta
  • optional 120ml of sunflower oil, but even less to be sure the cake will be moist

Preparation time: about 20 minutes
Cooking time: about 45-50 minutes

Pre-heat the oven to 160°C/325°F/Gas 3.

In a mixer bowl of a stand mixer, whisk the eggs, sugar and lemon rind until the mixture is pale yellow, thiick and forms a ribbon.

Once you have this lovely fluffy mixture, change from the wisk attachment to the paddle or K one and add the ricotta, wisking on a medium speed,  once the ricotta is well mixed reduce a bit more the speed of the mixer and start adding 2 tbsp at the time the flour with the baking powder. If you notice that is getting to dense add a bit of the milk and the vegetable oil.

Once it is all wel combined is time to add your chopped apples and the chocolate, with a wooden spoon make sure that all the apples are coated with the sponge mixture.

Grease with butter you bundt,take a small handful or spoonful of flour and dust lightly around the inside of the greased tin. Turn upside down over your kitchen work surface and knock gently to remove any excess flour. I am pretty sure I don’t have to write this passage but like any food blogger I will. 🙂

Spoon the mixture in the tin, level up and shake the tin and then put in your preheated oven for 45/50 minutes or until the cake skewer will come out clean. I personally noticed that if I put my old gas oven on 4 or even lower ok, it will takes twice the time to cook, but it will be absolutely perfect, not to dakr to the toop and not uncooked sponge inside.

When the cake is cooled enough, if you can wait that long, cut a slice and enjoy your afternoon either with tea or chocolate or cofee.wp-1454771190391.jpg

